The Lutheran Historical Society of the Mid-Atlantic awards the St. Paul’s, Biglerville, Prize for a work of mature scholarship in the field of American Lutheran church history.

Nominations are now being received for the 2020 prize. You can nominate a work by contacting Dr. Jill Ogline Titus at or Dr. Annabelle Wenzke or mail the Lutheran Historical Society of the Mid-Atlantic, 61 Seminary Ridge, Gettysburg, PA 17325

Previous Biglerville Prize winners

1994:  Kurt Aland for Korrespondenz Heinrich Melchior Mühlenbergs : aus der Anfangszeit des Deutschen Luthertums in Nordamerika / hrsg. in Verbindung mit der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg, Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Sachsen-Anhalt, Archiv der Francke Berlin and New York: W. deGruyter, 1986-2002.

2000: A. Gregory Roeber for Palentines, Liberty, and Property: German Lutherans in Colonial British America.  (The Johns Hopkins University Press, 1998.)

2003: Renate Wilson for Pious Traders in Medicine: A German Pharmaceutical Network in Eighteenth-Century North America. (Pennsylvania State University Press, 2000)

2004: Kim-Eric WIlliams for The Journey of Justus Falckner (American Lutheran Publicity Bureau and Lutheran Archives Center at Philadelphia, 2003)

2006: Thomas Baina for The Concordat of Agreement Between the Episcopal Church and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: Lessons on the Way Toward Full Communion (Edwin Mellon Press, 2003)

2011:  Friederike Baer for The Trial of Frederick Eberle: Language, Patriotism and Citizenship in Philadelphia’s German Community, 1790-1830 (New York University Press, 2008)

Maria Erling and Mark Granquist for The Augustana Story: Shaping Lutheran Identity in North America (Fortress Press, 2008).

2014: James Burkee for Power, Politics, and the Missouri Synod: A Conflict that Changed American Christianity (Fortress Press , 2011).